My Dad

I lost my dad yesterday. As I plan his memorial, I am thinking about all of the things he loved – his pretties. My dad was a unique individual – smart, quirky, creative, funny, difficult, sensitive, particular, and I will always cherish the many wonderful times we shared. Here are some of his favorite things – things he was known for.

Anyone that knew him also knew that he never left home without wearing a blazer – it could be 100 degrees outside and he still put on that darn blazer. He loved them because he could fit all sorts of things in the pockets.

If you ever went to dinner with him, he’d pull a few Andes mints out of his pocket when we were finished – and pass them around to all of us. This was a ritual – we’d all take one – even if it was a bit melted from being in his pocket.

He was a chemist, and even had a little lab in our house growing up. Sometimes when I was a kid I would sneak in there and look at all of the beakers and mysterious things going on. He was really brilliant when it came to chemistry.

He loved rock, Jimi Hendrix would be blaring in the garage from his boom box as he did whatever it was he did out there. He also played a lot of Credence Clearwater and Steppenwolf. Love that Magic Carpet Ride. And Foxy Lady.

“Let’s get some chinese” – he would say. Whenever the family went to dinner – it had to be some fabulous chinese restaurant. We even had one of those turn tables on the kitchen table. Lemon chicken, sweet and sour pork and of course – mongolian beef – were staples. Chef Chu’s in Mountain View was the special spot for us.

Why do I love horror movies so much? You can thank my dad for that! The two of us would watch them together when I was a kid – The Thing was one of our favorites. He also loved zombies – Return of the Living Dead – and he loved to dress up like a mad scientist for Halloween.

 

Finally…he loved me! And I loved him too and will always treasure each and every moment we shared.  I am happy to get to share his favorite things with you.

12 thoughts on “My Dad

  1. Denise says:

    Beautiful tribute, I’m so sorry for your loss, it looks like you had a very special relationship. Sending you hugs!

  2. Kathy Papworth says:

    The Best blog yet Jeannie. You summed him up perfectly. XOXOXO

  3. Bryan Beasley says:

    Sorry for your loss. I am sure he was a great man to make a Daughter like you!!!!

  4. Judi Peterson says:

    This is perfect. He is up in heaven with my Dad and they are cooking up an experiment together and probably getting into trouble. So many memories.

  5. Joe and Nancy says:

    I didn’t know he liked rock! Go figure. At least now the two chemists can have fun and see the stars without need of a telescope. Lots of fun trip and poker memories 😉 Our best to you, Tony, Kathy, Mary and Leni.

  6. Brian Royston says:

    I remember all the times we had with John, I loved his laugh. I loved it when he would talk about all the experiments, like when he almost blew up his parents basement in Michigan. I remember listening to Hendrix with him while we put together those cabinets he had in the garage in granada hills. I remember, I got him to almost go out without his coat, but then he went back inside and got it incase we went for food, in which we did go to Panda express lol. Your Dad was special to me as a son in law to him because he trusted me too take care of his daughter, and I promise to uphold that to him. I will always remember the Michigan football games where he and I would BBQ right outside his apartment as Leni would tell us what the score was. Adio!! Yanni, Love you and never forget you, ever

  7. Jade says:

    This is a beautiful tribute to your dad. sending you prayers and love today. xoxo

  8. Stephanie Roberts says:

    Oh, Jeannie — I’m so sorry to hear this. You were SO good to your dad, especially these past few years when he needed you most. No regrets! Still, it sucks to lose someone you love. Take care of yourself!

    • Stephanie Schoen says:

      Jeannie, you are in the hearts and minds of many who care about you and are sorry for your loss. What an amazing man your father was and what a beautiful tribute from a loving daughter.

  9. Amanda says:

    This is your prettiest blog. I am so very sorry for your loss. You are an amazing daughter!

  10. leigh says:

    your love and admiration for you dad shines through in this pretty post… all my love to you and your family miss jeannie! xo

  11. Jennifer Armor says:

    I remember so much of this stuff too. He must be where you get your taste in music…you were always ahead of your time (remember how you had the True Men Dont Kill Coyotes record?!). I remember watching that movie with him where the dead people were turned into food – crackers I think. We were so scared and he was laughing and laughing. Love and hugs to you and your brothers, sisters, and your mom. xoxo

Leave a Reply

